Bench Espresso – Perth, City – Numerous Occasions – Breakfast

Ham and cheese croissant and long black coffee

Ham and cheese croissant and long black coffee

Coffee in Perth. It is a favourite subject of mine and I’m pretty sure I have enough material to teach it at Curtin.

However, during this decade that is yet to be well (or popularly) named, Perth is starting to claim some amazing coffee as it’s own. When I’m here I need at least one good one a day to add to some of the absolute shockers I’m exposed to. My answer is Bench Espresso on many a morning.

I would probably try some of my old favourites if I was closer, or one of my new faves like Lowdown. But Bench is right up there with the best. I can park here on my way to work, quickly eat and drink in, or take away and my morning has started in good spirits.

The coffee itself is well made by the baristas, put through a top machine (Synesso), and begins with top quality beans. It should be this easy everywhere but somehow three simple elements are often lacking in so many places.

The food is really great and simple. Tasty muesli, standard but nice ham and cheese croissants, a little bit too standard toast, and great savoury muffins that are my go-to for a quick breakfast.

The amazing, absolutely incredible thing is that I walk past so many other places just as full as Bench with obviously inferior food and coffee. Personally I would walk for 10 minutes to get Bench over so many others. Please do yourself a favour and do the same! Life is too short for bad coffee.

Bench Espresso on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Bench Espresso – Perth, City – Numerous Occasions – Breakfast

Leave a Reply

